COMM 460 – HootSuite University Completion

Posted on

Hello and happy Friday!

I’m pleased to announce that I have some pretty exciting news for all you social media gurus, I’m HootSuite certified! It feels so good to be able to say that and thankful it is the end of an era.

Screen Shot 2013-11-20 at 12.05.50 AM

I am so excited to be finally finished with this program and even more excited to be able to put the official certification widget on my LinkedIn and resume. HootSuite is becoming a common tool in the social media world, and I feel very grateful that I had the opportunity to try it out as an undergrad student.

My most favorite topic from my HootSuite experience included “The Do’s and Dont’s of Social Media Etiquette.” I can not emphasize enough the importance of knowing basic social media etiquette. I’m not sure if some people are oblivious to what they post on the internet, but many are doing it so wrong. This section of the program should be required for completion for everyone before they can set any social media account! “The Do’s and Dont’s of Social Media  Etiquette” included various etiquette guidelines for keeping things on the internet professional and polite. It is so important to always keep a professional head on your shoulders and keep in mind whether you are on the the internet for work or personal time, you are always representing a brand: your client or yourself. From this section I learned the proper way to respond to Tweets professionally and also appropriate Tweets and Facebook statuses.These may seem like little things but if used incorrectly, it can help your companies reputation take a big hit. Your social media accounts are not a diary. It may be fun to post about how drunk you are getting with your friends or how much you love your boyfriend, but this information is not cute nor does it belong on the internet. Keep it classy!

My least favorite part of the program experience was completing the lengthy and dull videos which were required to complete the exams. I found many of them to be uninteresting and think HootSuite could definitely tune it up a little bit.

Overall I enjoyed my HootSuite experience and am grateful for the opportunity to test it out. I hope that the knowledge I acquired ail help me someday in the workforce.

Leave a comment