COMM 460 What is Social Media?/Guest speaker Sheryl Connelly

Posted on Updated on

Happy Friday! I hope everyone has had a successful week and are ready for a relaxing weekend. Today I wanted to talk about a topic which this blog was basically created for…social media! What exactly is social media? What can it do for us? Today in my COMM460 social media class, we had a wonderful guest speaker, Sheryl Connelly. Sheryl is the CEO of her own company she started, Marketing Media Management based in Louisville, Ky. Sheryl shared her own definition of what social media is, and I think she hit the hammer on the nail.

“Social media isn’t a conversation, it’s where the conversation takes place.”- Sheryl Connelly

Social media consists of the various platforms that we use to connect with others, not the actual technology platform itself. Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, these are all examples of ways that we can share our lives with others, whether they live near or far.

Obviously I love social media. I have the ability to connect with others through apps on my iPhone in a split second. Whether it be sharing a picture of a vacation on Instagram, or posting an exciting status on Facebook, I have the power to share my life with others through the internet. Soical media is constantly changing and growing, new platforms are created all the time, allowing people to connect with others in a variety of ways. In my opinion, social media could not be booming any more and I greatly look forward to seeing its advancements in the future.

I want to know, what is your favorite social media platform? Feel free to answer in the comments below!

Also, here is the link to Sheryl’s company: Marketing Media Management:

http://marketing-media-management.com

One thought on “COMM 460 What is Social Media?/Guest speaker Sheryl Connelly

    managemmm said:
    September 7, 2013 at 9:43 pm

    Awesome blog, Maggie! My favorite social media platform right now is Instagram, because of its photo and video sharing capability as well as its hashtaging and Twitter cross functionality. Facebook did a smart thing in buying them when they did.

Leave a comment